As I mentioned to one of the guys that works at the office with me, the last cyclocross race I did was in the 90s – late 90s, but still… I have been underwhelmed by the prospect of disc brakes in cross since June when the UCI announced their legalization. I think I just changed my mind.

I have never been a mountain biker, and never tried disc brakes – hydraulic or cable – and almost always felt that a set of TRP950 cantis would take care of anything.

While the 950s pretty much rule every condition, getting fist-fulls of wet clipped grass in between my pads and rim the other day made me realize that the disc option is legit and really something I would probably go for if they got the weight down, hydraulic road levers, and it integrated well with sexy form of my (when it happens, this is the dream bike…) custom painted Ridley with Di2.

Last summer I talked with the Factor 001 guys in the UK about hydraulic versions of the Di2 levers that they were cobbling together for their project and the possibility of  us being willing to make Hüdz for them. It never happened, and as far as I know the Factor 001 bike is still vapor-ware. But the idea has stuck with me and now I think that with disc brakes in CX the time may have come to pull out all the stops and just go full-on crazy like that.

Maybe, just maybe…

