I was conflicted when I posted about Ezequiel Mosquera having a great Veulta a couple weeks ago. There was no question that he was animating the race, but the fact that he should not have been able to was troubling me.

I tried to have faith and believe in the dream of an unheralded rider becoming the darling of the race…

But…

How is it that a guy who has made little splash on the professional scene is beating the likes of a Schleck? Is it surprising that his team is about to fold and that all of the sudden he has an out of this world race on a major stage? Has he ever time trialed anywhere close to that well before?

Well, it looks like it may not have been hard work and motivation after all. The home crowd did not infuse him with the strength of a champion. Apparently doping did that.

I won’t hang the man until the facts are confirmed, but he has tested positive… If he is confirmed as having doped, I sincerely wish that he had never used our product.

I’m in favor of all the technical/aerodynamic/training/nutritional/etc. benefit that a racer can get. I’ve spent weeks in a wind tunnel and hours upon hours looking for a watt or two in a higher-performance piece of equipment for teams and individual athletes. Sure, that is buying speed and it puts them at a sporting advantage. But I would much rather see money go into that than a “medical program”.

There is a famous quote from a pro cyclist, I forget who, that goes “It is not doping unless you are caught. If you are not caught it is just race preparation.” Here’s to hoping all the dopers get caught so that it can unequivocally be called cheating…

