It’s odd to have days where you are out working hard on a ride that at one point in time would have been a recovery day – or even effectively a day off where you just wanted to get out and ride but were going so slow or such a short distance that it wouldn’t even count as training. I’ve had plenty of those. Actually most of the last 45 days have been like that.

There have been exceptions, days that ended up being about 30 miles ridden hard. Today was my first foray into the area over 40 miles. So far I’ve been very cautious. The idea has been to ride in a manner that would always leave me able to ride the next day to keep stacking days up back to back.

Today I started out pretty easy with a friend and a plan to go for 3 or 3.5 hours. We rolled out nice and easy and made our way toward Lyons with hardly a labored breath. Heading out to loop around on the popular Fruit Loops route seemed like a good idea, and after a quick cleat and back adjustment after the first of the two ‘loops’ I was feeling decent. Decent turned to reasonably good as we made the turn back from Lyons across to Hygiene.

Into the shifting cross winds – out of no where – I found myself sitting on the front, picking up other riders, and feeling pretty good rolling of my gear on the gradual climb. With a couple little kicks on the way home I put some lead in my legs and felt like it was just the perfect distance for the day.

We’ll see what tomorrow brings. I had hoped to get in 8 hours for the total of the Fri.-Mon. holiday weekend, but since Friday was a very busy work day, and yesterday I did a fairly pathetic job of motivating myself and turned in only a cursory ride that would mean I need at least 2.5 hours tomorrow to hit that goal. Since I have no idea how my body is going to respond to my effort today, I’ll just have to take it as it comes.

