Going from zero to 40 has been tough for sure. In the weeks before I undertook completing my ’35 days in a row’ mission I had not ridden once. Today is the 40th day in a row and that has been achieved with some outside help for sure.

You can’t make it through a spring in Colorado without going back to the trainer from time to time. At least not if you have to ride every single day and don’t feel like trudging a mtb through a foot of fresh powder. Since I don’t presently own a mtb, that means I had to ride the trainer. Fortunately Frightened Rabbit got me though those otherwise mind-numbing sessions. I think they are Scottish, and since my brain doesn’t even really pay attention to lyrics Keep Yourself Warm was a great tune to flog myself to. “I’m drunk and you’re probably on pills. If we both have the same diseases it’s irrelevant girl.” Honestly never thought I’d hear that in song form – or any other for that matter – but FR went there and did it so compellingly that I’m digging it.

It looks and smells like a Thanksgiving sweet potato dish, but Badger Balm’s Ginger-Cayenne Sore Muscle balm is straight-up dope. I’ll admit to being borderline paranoid about the myriad number of chemicals that are in most products these days. I eat organic, use organic shampoo/soap/toothpaste, etc. so Badger’s highly effective anti-inflammatory balm makes me feel good on so many levels. Just picked up some of their sunscreen so that hopefully I don’t burn the crap out of my arms again like I did last week…

The Fizik Antares is my saddle. I recently changed from the San Marco Zoncolon which I rather liked, but considering how awful the chamois and bib in general are that the Hüdz-Subaru team got last year (we’re going with a different company for 2010 for certain) the saddle becomes exponentially more important. I hate the Arione and just couldn’t get comfortable on the Aliante, but the Antares is perfect and then some. The thing is that saddles are something that is so intensely personal that I figure a saddle company is doing something right when I hate some of their stuff. Fortunately Fizik makes a nice range of saddles that fit a nice range of hind-parts, so when I found the one that worked for me it really worked. My wife has loved her Vitesse for years and I have a good feeling that I’m gonna be the same way with the Antares. Well, I still haven’t tried the new Pave, so…

Anyway, I feel like rubbish from a hard weekend, but it’s day 40, and as the surfers would say: “Eddie would go…”

