So yesterday was a touch and go day, but as soon as the weather cleared and the streets started to dry I was out the door to ride. I hit the sunny part of the day and had a great roll-around with my wife. Once we were out on the road Carol told me that she had not eaten enough in the morning and wasn’t feeling great. Well, that, and she drank a monster-strong cup of coffee that was completely messing with her metabolism – particularly considering the light breakfast.

Since it was 11.00 we decided to do an easy hour and a half and rambled around a little loop to the northeast of Boulder.

Coming home on Jay Road we pulled up to the stoplight at the Diagonal. As we waited for the light to change Taylor Phinney and a teammate pulled up behind us. I knew Taylor and worked with him a little bit when he was at Slipstream so I said ‘hi’ as the light changed. Taylor responded as Carol and I were clipping back in. All of the sudden I hear the grunt of agony and Carol calling me. Massive calf cramp.

Now it may have been the nutritional issue, but I’m thinking that maybe Taylor has some sort of incredible psychic ability to cause cramps in near-by riders and that may account for his meteoric rise through the cycling ranks…

Then again that may be preposterous…

