After a great ride yesterday in ideally-bad weather it was nice to get out today in the sun. With a touch of tenderness in the knee tendons I figured that today would be a perfect day to head out and ride with my wife – just do a little spin out of the legs so that Soren and Chuck (who t-boned a car just after finishing a time trial this weekend, so he’ll be slow if he rides tomorrow) don’t put too much of a hurt on me on Monday.

The plan was simple – out into the head wind, back with the tail wind. Unfortunately when my wife drafted all the way out in the head wind, I had no idea that her plan was to put it in the big ring and drop me repeatedly on the way back. She’s not what you would characterize as a supple rider, more of the Bulgarian weight-lifter type cadence – 50 to 70 rpm seems to feel good to her. I have promised myself ‘no big ring*’ until June (* does not apply on gravel, bricked, or otherwise gnarly roads) so that I can get a nice spin back before I bury myself trying to get some speed for cross season. She didn’t mean to drop me, but rolling the 52/14 gives you a bit of an advantage over a 39/13 in a tail wind…

Oh, well. It was nice to ride with her and if there’s one place where any male ego gets benched, it’s in the presence of your wife, so no harm done to uber-lance and the id side of my brain…

In other, more important, bike-riding news, the women at Sea Otter are doing Hüdz proud. Allison Powers took the circuit race on the track out there for Team Vera Bradley Foundation with Katherine Mattis from Webcor joining her in the 3-rider break that swept the podium. Other good results in Monterrey and a lot of nice pictures on cyclingnews.com…

