I’ve posted up here a couple times about anticipating getting a Civilian frameset that was the prize for winning Best Component or Accessory at the Rocky Mountain Bicycle Show last year. It’s a long-wheelbase gravel/cobble bike – OX Platinum 34.9 down tube, OX Platinum 31.8 top tube, S3 head tube and seat stays, and Colombus MAX seat tube and chain stays. It’s got an Edge 2.0 fork to match and a custom steel stem. There are a lot of features on it that are very cool including custom internal cable routing (the derailleur cables cross inside the down tube and the rear brake starts on the drive side and goes to the non-drive side – I use ‘cross routing on just about everything so I don’t kill myself come autumn).

I just got some pics of the raw frame last night and I am now in full-force tweak to get the thing and build it. The only problem is that I am stymied on how to finish (paint or otherwise) the thing. I’ve come up with a slew of options and like them all, but haven’t hit that one that makes me go, “I have to do that, nothing else will do…” It’s starting to drive me a bit nuts. It’s probably also starting to drive Tyson at Civilian a bit nuts. Hopefully I’ll get things figured out before the end of the weekend (supposed to rain here, so plenty of time to ruminate on it).

If you have any suggestions, send them over, I can use the help… info(at)grabthehudz.com

