A look at Tyson's work. He has such nice details with his design. If you don't know them, you should...

A look at Tyson's work. He has such nice details with his design. If you don't know them, you should...

This past weekend was the Rocky Mountain Bicycle Show in Denver. Wow, what a busy weekend.  Good things happened for Hüdz all over the place.

Of particular interest for us – Hüdz and me personally – was the Rider’s Choice Award for Best Component or Accessory. Tyson Hart of Civilian Bicycles in Portland put up a custom frameset for the winner, so I went into the show wanting to take that home. Badly.

At the end of the weekend, Hüdz took the prize. I thanked Tyson about 20 times for donating the frameset and told him how excited I was to work with him on the project. I’m not in any hurry and I want to make sure that the bike I build with him is something that I will want to keep pretty much forever. This is going to be great.

In other RMBS news, Courage won Builder’s choice – Aaron builds fantastic bikes so that was great to see, and Ben Farver from Argonaut got to present the award as the winner last year. Those two guys are pretty good friends, so that was great. Renovo won Best Finishing for their incredible hardwood bikes as well as Best of Show (best individual bike). And, James Bleakley from Black Sheep Bicycles passed the Builder of the Year trophy (based on three frames or bicycles) to another legend of Ti building, and one of my favorites, Kent Eriksen.

Everyone seemed to have a fantastic weekend, and I normally hate doing shows, but I’m really looking forward to next year…

