From yesterday’s ride, “I can’t ride the gravel, I don’t have a big ring.”

One of the afternoon storms that used to be an every-day occurrence her on the front range rolled in just as my friend Nathan and I were heading out for our ride yesterday. Nathan is a lawyer, and a bit fancy with his carbon Colnago and SuperRecord and carbon clinchers, but he’s a man’s man when it comes to riding and he was digging the rain as much as I was on my new oversized steel bike with DA7900 (man’s man bike). So we headed out east of town and got blown out quickly by the wind out of the south west. 

We had to stop a couple time to adjust saddle height and cleat position on my bike since I had just built it up and changed to the DA7810 pedals at the same time. And unfortunately on the ride east I also found out that I couldn’t get the chain onto the big ring – either I set the limit screws a touch too tight, or the cable had a bit of slack in it. While unfortunate, I wasn’t going to let it ruin my ride. 

Then we made the turn north, onto a road that I knew became gravel in about 1K. When Nathan asked if I wanted to ride the gravel section, the answer was the quote that started this entry – you gotta have the big ring for gravel.

We rode it anyway and I did my best to keep the power down and just glide over the ruts and craters and big loose rocks, but it just wasn’t quite the same. In the end it didn’t make much of a difference since I’ve spent more time in the Doctor’s office than on the bike lately which means the power ran out pretty quickly. Still a ride with some Belgian weather and a couple stretches of gravel makes me happy as a clam.

Now I’m off to another Dr.’s appointment, and hopefully soon I’ll be sorted and putting in the miles so that I can really clobber the gravel this fall…

